Manincor

Epoches - Manincor

The beginnings of wine-growing on the Lake of Kaltern.

Manincor means: Hand in heart (i.e., hand on one’s heart). The old heraldic symbol of the Manincor family of jurists from Casez on the Nonsberg mountain, a coat-of-arms featuring an erect arm with a heart in the hand, dates back to 1528.

One of the family’s most competent and diligent members, Hieronymus, founded the present-day estate. The manor house and the detached estate building with stables on the ground floor, an arched loggia with a cellar beneath were built in the years following 1608. Hieronymus had the ‘Pauwald’ forest cleared and lush vineyards planted in its place. The site corresponds to the present-day Ölleiten slopes. For the old wine-growing area surrounding the Lake of Kaltern this signified a large stride in the direction of developing a prosperous and economy-based wine culture which subsequently thrived thanks to the necessary infrastructure provided by quickly-established aristocratic country estates.

A marriage took place in1663 at the time of the Thirty Years War joining the Manincor and Enzenberg families which by then had become elevated to the Tyrolean aristocracy, between Maria Manincor and Christoph von Enzenberg. Elements of the two families’ heraldic symbols were combined to form the Manincor coat-of-arms.

The ‘luxury’ of the epoch is revealed in many details found in the Manincor manor house – for example in the two large halls which served as the entrance to the living quarters and also for heating – though in general sumptuousness was in no way considered a requirement in the furnishings. The chapel wing on the eastern side of the main building, in contrast, emanates the austere intellectuality of the counter-reformation. It was custom among the court-oriented aristocracy of the early 17th century to have one’s own place of worship in one’s own home and to require the Church to approve and consecrate it. Christoph von Manincor therefore had a chapel dedicated to Our Lady built on his property. This first construction has disappeared, for in the mid 18th century Ignaz von Manincor had an extension built with a domed roof as its crown.

In 1802 Manincor acquired ownership of the properties of the Schasser and Dipauli families via the Hendl family, and later acquired the estate of the family Buol-Biegeleben. Count Georg Enzenberg, uncle and adoptive father of Count Michael Goëss-Enzenberg succeeded in acquiring the estate of Baron von Buol in 1977. The property was sold due to commercial necessities. Count Enzenberg was successful in this acquisition through skilled restructuring of assets, for example by the socially-motivated sale of leasehold farms in the Ahrntal valley. The Manincor estate comprised 10 hectares of vineyards. The new acquisition brought the ruins of Leuchtenburg castle into the family estate, one of the most iconic landmarks which dominates the scenery around the Lake of Kaltern and its vinescape. Count Michael Goëss-Enzenberg and his wife Sophie have transformed Manincor into a vibrant wine estate and over recent years have renovated much of its old structural fabric, revitalised life within the old walls and given the entire estate a new pulsating heart through the construction of an architecturally impressive cellar. The future looks very encouraging indeed!

Epoches - Episode 1: The Manincor estate has long been a small world of its own, a world which has always had a formative influence on its people. Here we would like to provide you with insight into the history of Manincor, our family and the estates they have owned.